Ethnic Minorities

Ethnic Minorities

The Ethnic Minorities Section unites those members of NCFR who are concerned with issues pertaining to ethnic minorities families, to help increase their participation in the organization and annual programs of NCFR, and to help create a better understanding of the variations in families from diverse ethnic groups. Focus Groups include: Asian American Family and Latino(a) Research.

Chantel L. Lumpkin, Chair (2014)

Visit the section listserv page to email all section members.

Related Focus Groups (click the links to go to each Focus Group page):

A Focus Group consists of a set of NCFR members with a specific family life interest that is related to an existing NCFR Section, but that is not the sole focus of that Section.

Section Officers

Newly elected Ethnic Minorities Section Officers serving November 2014-November 2016
Roudi Nazarinia Roy (California) - Chair-elect
Yolanda T. Mitchell (Nebraska) - Secretary/Treasurer
Shuntay Z. McCoy (North Carolina) - Students and New Professionals Representative
Jose Miguel Rodas (Arizona) - Students and New Professionals Representative

Harriette McAdoo

Section Awards

The Ethnic Minorities Section sponsors the John L. & Harriette P. McAdoo Dissertation Award, Marie E. Peters Award, and Student/New Professional Best Paper Award.

unlocked for Members

Section Governance

The bylaws of the National Council on Family Relations shall govern the Ethnic Minorities Section in all of its practices. The bylaws of this section shall not conflict with the bylaws of the National Council on Family Relations.