Ruth Hathaway Jewson Award (SNP)

2020 Recipient – Farin Bakhtiari, M.A.


This award is given in even-numbered years in honor of Ruth Hathaway Jewson, NCFR's second executive director. It funds the best dissertation proposal submitted by a doctoral candidate studying families and aging. Dr. Jewson was responsible for expanding what was, early on, a small NCFR membership to more 4,000 members by the time she retired. When Dr. Jewson was in her 60s and working full time at NCFR, she earned her master's degree and went on to complete her doctorate, writing her dissertation on "The Retired Professional Woman." In the 1970s, when she wrote her dissertation, there were very few retired professional women.


The award recipient is presented with a $500 cash award and a plaque, which are presented at the beginning of a plenary session at the NCFR Annual Conference. This award is presented biennially (even years). Thank you to the Families and Health Section for administering the award beginning in 2020.


The nominee must be a doctoral student, a current member of NCFR, and have been a member of NCFR for at least six months.

The proposal (5 single-spaced pages maximum), which is used to decide the recipient of the award, should include:

  • short abstract (200 words maximum);
  • statement of the research problem;
  • review of the relevant literature;
  • methodology;
  • rationale for the research indicating how the study will contribute to some aspect of Family Science or family practice; and
  • in-text citations of references (a reference list is not required, but if included is part of the 5-page limit).
  • Proposals can include up to two additional pages of tables and figures (if included, these do NOT count towards the 5-page limit).

Upon completion, the recipient is encouraged to submit a paper, based on some aspect of the research, for presentation at an appropriate forum at the next NCFR Annual Conference

Nomination/application process

Applicants must:

  • fill out the application form;
  • submit proposal and supporting materials. Please use 12pt font and 1 inch margins;
  • submit an abbreviated vitae listing publications and other relevant experiences (3 pages maximum) and a statement from his or her advisor confirming the student has successfully defended the proposal.


June 1: Application deadline. Email materials to Membership.
July 31: The recipient will be notified by this date.

Find the award nomination form here.