Feldman Best Conference Proposal Award

2023 Recipient (New Professional)

Jaz Routon, Ph.D., University of Vermont 
"Rural Sexual and Gender Minority Experiences of Housing Instability and Perceptions of Residential Community Climate" 

2023 Recipient (Student)

Nathaniel Stekler, B.S., University of Connecticut  
"Tax Credit Utilization in a NGO-Administered Free Tax Preparation Program" 


The award is presented in memory of Harold Feldman and Margaret Feldman, NCFR members and pioneers in the field of family policy. It reflects an effort to increase the number of family policy researchers and practitioners engaged in policy-related activities. The award also serves to further encourage family policy as a career path for students and new professionals.


A cash award totaling $250 and a certificate are distributed to students and new professionals who have had posters or papers accepted by the Family Policy (FP) Section for the NCFR Annual Conference. This award is presented at the Family Policy (FP) Section annual meeting.

The $250 is divided among at least two (one student and one new professional) and no more than five students and new professionals who are presenting papers or posters at the NCFR Annual Conference.


Eligibility requirements:

  • Be a current member of NCFR and the FP Section; and
  • Meet NCFR’s definition of student or new professional; 
    • if student, be enrolled full-time in an institution of higher learning; or
    • if new professional, be not more than five years beyond most recent degree; and
  • Have a first-authored poster or paper accepted by the FP Section for the respective NCFR Annual Conference.

Nomination/application process

  • All students or new professionals who are the first-author on a poster or paper accepted by the FP Section for the NCFR Annual Conference will be automatically considered for a Feldman Best Conference Proposal Award.
  • Top ranking abstracts will be reviewed by a committee established by the student and new professional representative for membership and the FP Section officers. Best Conference Proposal Awards will be offered to at least two of the highest ranked applications.

Committee Structure

The committee should include the following:

  • the student and new professional membership representative (chair);
  • the chair-elect of the FP Section; and
  • one other member.


The committee is responsible for selecting recipients and reporting their decision(s) to the chair of the section and NCFR Membership.


May 1: Application deadline. Submit all materials to Membership.
July 31: The recipient is notified by this date