Kathleen Briggs Outstanding Mentor Award

2023 RecipientsRachel R. Tambling, Ph.D., LMFT, and Amber Vennum, Ph.D., LMFT, CFLE


The purpose of the Kathleen Briggs Award is to recognize an outstanding mentor of students and new professionals in the area of marriage and family therapy. It is given in honor of Kathleen Briggs, a long-time Family Therapy (FT) Section member and leader. She was committed to mentoring marriage and family therapy graduate students and new professionals. Dr. Briggs was well-known and respected for her leadership, insight, optimism, enthusiasm, and mentoring.


Recognition, plaque and $200 award is given every other year, in the odd numbered years. The award is presented biennially (odd years) at the beginning of a plenary session at the NCFR Annual Conference.


The nominee should:

  • contribute to the professional and academic development of graduate students and new professionals in the field of family therapy;
  • participate in mentoring activities;
  • provide a nurturing environment for graduate students and new professionals;
  • promote the involvement of graduate students and new professionals in scholarly activities;
  • demonstrates leadership in their field through active research and/or service; and
  • be a current member of NCFR and the Family Therapy Section.

Nomination/application process

Make the nomination in writing with a letter providing specific examples of how the nominee meets the above criteria. Provide a minimum of two additional letters supporting the nomination.

Nomination letters can come from students, new professionals, or other senior colleagues. At lest two letters of support must be from students or new professionals themselves.


May 1: Application deadline. Email all materials to Membership
July 31: The recipient is notified by this date