Alexis J. Walker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Feminist Family Studies


2022 Recipients

Edith Lewis, Ph.D., University of Michigan School of Social Work
Maureen Perry-Jenkins, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts


The award is to honor Alexis J. Walker, founder of the Feminism and Family Science Section. This award will be given biennially (even years).


A plaque will be awarded and recognition given in FF newsletter, FF website, and at the FF Section annual meeting. The recipient will give an invited NCFR lecture sponsored by FF entitled: The Alexis J. Walker Award Address.


  • Award will be given biennially (even years)
  • Award recipients should have high visibility in the FF Section
  • Lifetime nominees should be at least 20 years since completing terminal degree
  • Applicants and nominees must be NCFR and Feminism and Family Science Section members to apply
  • Each award would emphasize the contribution to feminist family scholarship, with one or more of the following additional areas: teaching, service to FF and NCFR, leadership and administration, and activism

Nomination/application process

  • Applicants can be nominated by colleagues and can self-nominate
  • Applicants must provide 3 (but no more than 5) letters of support
  • Applicants must provide a cover sheet addressing:
    • how applicant's work meets the criteria of the award
    • how long the applicant has been a FF member
    • description of present and past participation in FF
    • names of references
    • applicant's updated vitae or resume


May 15: Application deadline. Send completed applications to Membership
July 31: The recipient is notified by this date