Marie F. Peters Award

2023 Recipient — Chalandra Bryant, Ph.D., CFLE 


The Marie F. Peters award was established in 1983 for the purpose of recognizing distinguished scholars, researchers and practitioners who have made significant contributions to the area of ethnic minority families. It is presented in memory of Marie F. Peters who was a distinguished scholar, researcher, practitioner, and mentor, as well as an illustrious member of the NCFR, a board member, and leader of what is now the Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Families Section.


Presented biennially (odd years), a $500 cash award and plaque are given at the beginning of a plenary session at the NCFR Annual Conference. The Marie Peters Address is given at the NCFR Annual Conference in the year the award is presented.


Candidates should be current members of NCFR and the Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Families (REDF) Section and recognized for:

  • leadership and/or mentoring;
  • scholarship and/or service - research, publication, teaching, community service; and
  • their contribution to the Ethnic Minorities Section and NCFR.

Nomination/application process

A nominator should:

  • submit a letter of nomination from a member of NCFR; and
  • two additional letters of support. One must be from a member of the REDF Section.

Both the nomination letter and two letters of support should highlight ways in which the nominee meets the established criteria for the Marie F. Peters Award.

The nominator also is responsible for collecting the documents for the nomination packet:

  • curriculum vitae/resume;
  • letters of support; and
  • additional information at the request of the award selection committee.


June 1: Application deadline. Submit all materials to Membership.
July 31: The recipient is notified by this date.

The application form is downloadable here.