Writing Wednesdays

Presented by the NCFR Students and New Professionals Group (SNP)
June 1, 2022 1:00pm - July 13, 2022 3:00pm
CT
Free, open to all
Location
Online

Have a manuscript, curriculum, or dissertation you need to work on? Come join our writing sessions!

  • Utilize peer accountability to complete your projects
  • Build a sense of community with fellow SNP
  • Use SMART Goals framework to improve your productivity
  • Swap manuscripts and get peer suggestions on your work

Wednesdays, June 1 to July 13, 2022 (skipping the week of July 4 for the holiday)
1–3 p.m. Central Time (2–4 p.m. ET / 12–2 p.m. MT / 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. PT)

Register in advance

NCFR is here for you!

Do the summer months have you burned-out or bored? Need an extra boost to accomplish your goals? Let’s do it together!

This program will utilize peer accountability to help provide that extra push to get your projects completed. Why does peer accountability work? Well, if everyone else is writing, you don’t want to be the one that is playing with their dog. We encourage you to put this on your calendar and treat this as a work meeting.

This program will utilize the SMART Goals framework to help you accomplish your goals by the end of the semester. For more information go to: bit.ly/UCOP-SMART-Goals

Although this effort is especially to support Students and New Professionals (SNP), any NCFR member is welcome.

How it Works:

Once you log on, you will be asked to turn your video camera on. This way we can hold each other accountable to not get distracted.

At the end of each week we will share our progress and our goals to accomplish before next week.

Those of you who want to take Writing Wednesdays to the next level can share your manuscript with a peer group. Groups will work together and collaborate on their projects. Each author will work on their manuscript throughout the summer.

Schedule (All times are Central Time)

1–1:05 p.m. Welcome and catch up
1:05–1:50 p.m. Write! No distractions
1:50 p.m.–2 p.m. Stretch and coffee break
2–2:50 p.m. Write! Still no distractions
2:50–3 p.m. Wrap up and share your goals for the next week

Register in advance

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Questions? Contact our organizers:

Alice C. Long, Ph.D.
[email protected]

Jennifer Doty
SNP Leadership Council
[email protected]