Spring 2015 Family Therapy Section update

Shayne Anderson, Ph.D., section chair

Under Christi McGeorge's leadership, the annual business meetings of the Family Therapy Section have become wonderful mentoring and networking events. The 2014 NCFR conference was no exception. Our three new Family Therapy Legacy Scholars—Jeff Larson, Doug Sprenkle, and Volker Thomas—joined with past Legacy Scholars to mentor members of the Section. We hope to continue this tradition of mentorship at the 2015 conference, where we will award the third Kathleen Briggs Outstanding Mentor Award.

The purpose of this award is to recognize an outstanding mentor of students and new professionals in the area of marriage and family therapy. It is given in honor of Kathleen Briggs, a longtime Family Therapy Section member and leader. She was committed to mentoring marriage and family therapy graduate students and new professionals. Dr. Briggs was well known and respected for her leadership, insight, optimism, enthusiasm, and mentoring.

We are now accepting nominations for this award. Eligible nominees are individuals who

  • contribute to the professional and academic development of graduate students and new professionals in the field of family therapy,
  • participate in mentoring activities,
  • provide a nurturing environment for graduate students and new professionals,
  • promote the involvement of graduate students and new professionals in scholarly activities,
  • demonstrate leadership in their field through active research and/or service, and
  • are current members of NCFR and the Family Therapy Section.

To nominate an individual you believe deserves this recognition, please complete the nomination form, providing specific examples of how the nominee meets these criteria and at least two additional letters supporting the nomination. The nomination form, as well as additional information about the award, is available on the Section's awards page.

Nomination letters should be emailed to Jeanne Strand by May 1.