Summer 2014 Family Policy update

by Bethany Letiecq, section chair

Greetings! The Family Policy Section is pleased to announce that FP Section members who are students and new professionals are eligible to apply for three Feldman Awards, which are presented at the NCFR Annual Conference in memory of Harold and Margaret Feldman, NCFR members and pioneers in the field of family policy. The awards include:

Feldman Internship Award. This award of $250 and a certificate is designed for individuals currently enrolled in or accepted for an internship in a federal, state, or local government or other policy-related arena such as private business, nonprofit organizations, or higher education. Preference for this award, which serves to further encourage family policy as a career path for student and new professionals, will be given to applicants completing a master's or doctoral degree and to those whose activities have the potential for impacting research and practice in family policy.

Feldman Outstanding Research Proposal for Research in Family Policy. This award of $250 and a plaque recognizes a graduate student or new professional who has demonstrated excellence in research and potential contribution to family policy studies, particularly in the areas of gender/women's issues or poverty. The award recipient is invited to present a brief report on the project and related findings at the following NCFR Annual Conference, if feasible.

Feldman Travel Award. This award of $250 and a certificate is offered to help offset SNP travel costs to NCFR to present their family policy-related research at the annual conference. Preference will be given to applicants who are nearing the completion of their graduate program and display a genuine career interest in family policy.

For more information about the application process and specific criteria for each award, please refer to the NCFR website. Applications should be emailed to Morgan Cooley by Oct. 1, 2014. The leadership of the FP Section hopes many students and new professionals apply for these prestigious awards and we look forward to celebrating your accomplishments in Baltimore! For additional questions about the awards or the section generally, please email Bethany Letiecq, FP Chair.