NCFR Announces 2018 Elected Officers

The following NCFR members were elected to serve in the following offices of the National Council on Family Relations beginning in November 2018.

Elections Council Members (2018–2021)

  • Ani Yazedjian, Ph.D., Department Chair and Professor Family and Consumer Sciences, Illinois State University
  • Cassandra Dorius, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Iowa State University

Fellows Committee Members (2018–2021)                    

  • Sarah Schoppe-Sullivan, Ph.D., Professor, Human Development & Family Science, Ohio State University
  • Spencer Olmstead, Ph.D., CFLE, Associate Professor of Child and Family Studies, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Elise Radina, Ph.D., CFLE, Professor and Chair, Department of Family Science and Social Work Miami University (Ohio)

Inclusion and Diversity Committee – Member-at-Large (2018–2021)  

  • Daphne C. Hernandez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Nutrition, Obesity Studies, and Health Disparities, University of Houston

Students & New Professionals Program Co-Representatives (2018–2020)                   

  • Erin Lavender-Stott, M.A., Doctoral Candidate in Human Development, Virginia Tech
  • J. Kale Monk, Ph.D., CFLE, Assistant Professor and State Specialist, University of Missouri



Advancing Family Science Section

  • Scott Tobias, Ph.D., CFLE, Chair-Elect
  • Jaimee L. Hartenstein, Ph.D., CFLE, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Jennifer “Jenn” Greiving, M.A., Students and New Professionals Representative

Education and Enrichment Section

  • Michelle L. Toews, Ph.D., Chair-Elect
  • Chelsea Garneau-Rosner, Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer
  • Sarah Kuborn, CFLE, Students and New Professionals Representative

Ethnic Minorities Section                                          

  • Anthony G. James, Ph.D., CFLE, Chair-Elect              
  • Sharde McNeil Smith, Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer
  • Sarai Coba-Rodriquez, Ph.D., CFLE, and Jenee’ Duncan, CFLE, Students and New Professionals Representatives

Families and Health Section                       

  • Amber J. Seidel, Ph.D., CFLE, Chair-Elect
  • Erin Yelland, Ph.D., CFLE, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Carolyn Sutter, Ph.D., Students and New Professionals Representative
  • Sarah Feeney, Ph.D., CFLE, Communications Specialist  

Family Therapy Section                                             

  • Glade Topham, Ph.D., Chair-Elect
  • Gizem Erdem, Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer
  • Ashley Walsdorf, M.S., Doctoral Candidate Students and New Professionals Representative