NCFR Board and Committee Elections Set for February 2023

Submit nominations for 2024 elections

NCFR Elections Council Co-chairs Jessica N. Fish and Kevin M. Shafer, invites all members to get involved in the leadership of NCFR.

The vitality of NCFR depends on the dedication of its members to serve in leadership capacities at various levels of the organization.

Leadership in NCFR offers many benefits and rewards, including:

  • The opportunity to share our knowledge and expertise in ways that will help to promote the welfare of families and children.
  • Status and recognition by local, state, national and international audiences.
  • Networking and professional development opportunities

The charge of the Elections Council is to identify people who are willing to commit their time and energy for leadership positions. Please consider how your skills and gifts might benefit NCFR.  In turn, we are quite sure that you will gain valuable leadership experience and will grow personally as well as professionally.

There are two ways to be involved:

  1. Nominate yourself or others for the 2024 elections slate by Jan. 31, 2023.

  2. Vote in the 2023 elections by Feb. 28, 2023.

Complete information on these opportunities follows.

Nominations for February 2024 Election Slate

The Elections Council wants to encourage ALL members to nominate someone for the February 2024 slate. As you think about who would serve NCFR well, please give serious consideration to nominating yourself as well as others. Submit a nomination here.

Here are the Selection Criteria to help you decide whether you would be willing to be nominated and/or to identify potential candidates for the upcoming election:


  • Current membership in NCFR
  • Knowledge and/or experience in areas reflecting broad trends in human development, family science, marriage and family practice, sociology, and related professions.
  • Knowledge and/or experience in leadership roles through Sections, Affiliate Councils, Focus Groups, conference planning, publishing, public policy, or other committee work.


When identifying members to run for office, consideration should be given to a slate that is diverse in its representation of members, for example:

  • Ability and disability
  • Aboriginal, mixed, immigrant
  • Age
  • Bilingualism and multiculturalism/English language learners
  • Body size and condition
  • Customs and traditions
  • Educational, disciplinary, or career status
  • Ethnicity, race, national origin, or cultural identity
  • Gender, gender identity, and gender expression
  • Geographical background and location
  • Marital status, relational status (including singlehood), and family structure or identity
  • Objective and subjective worldviews and standpoints
  • Political ideologies and affiliations
  • Religion/no religion, spirituality and affiliations, and faith
  • Sexual orientation, identities, and expressions
  • Socioeconomic status, residential status, social class, employment, and national service

[Note: The aspects of diversity are listed alphabetically, but not in any order of priority.]

Keeping this in mind, we invite self-nominations and nominations of others for the following positions for the slate to be elected in February of 2024. The terms for these positions will begin November 2024 at the end of the annual conference.

Students and New Professionals Conference Program Representative (2024-2026), one position

Serves a two-year term as a member of the Annual Conference Program Committee, member of the Student Award Committees, has several Annual Conference responsibilities, and assists in networking students and new professionals. Read more.

Elections Council (2024-2027), two positions

It is the responsibility of the Elections Council to prepare a slate of nominees for officers and members of the Board of Directors, Students and New Professionals Board Representative, Students and New Professionals Program Representative, Fellows Committee, Elections Council, the Inclusion and Diversity Committee positions, and to ensure that the policies regarding recruitment as provided by the NCFR Bylaws, and the Elections Council Policies and Procedures are followed. Read more.

Inclusion and Diversity Committee (2024-2027), two positions

IDC Members-at-Large will serve to assist the IDC to respond to the needs and desires of NCFR members. The Members-at-Large will help the committee send updates on the work of the IDC via webpage postings, NCFR Reports, and other effective venues of communication. Read more.

Fellows Committee (2024-2027), two positions

The Fellows Committee shall review the applications for nominees for NCFR Fellow status. During the NCFR Annual Conference, discuss and vote on which nominees will be recommended to the Board of Directors for NCFR Fellow status. Read more.

Conference Program Chair-Elect (2024-2025, program chair for 2026 conference)

The NCFR Conference Program Chair-Elect is appointed by the NCFR Board of Directors. The Elections Council is interested in your suggestions for potential program chair appointees. Please feel free to suggest names along with your other nominations. The program chair’s primary duties are to select the theme, identify the plenary speakers, and prepare the call for abstracts for a particular year’s conference.

Submit nominations


VOTE in NCFR's 2023 Elections by Feb. 28

The Elections Council wants to encourage ALL members to vote in February 2023. We have submitted a nomination slate (ballots will be emailed to members in February 2023) for terms that will be filled at the end of the national meeting in November 2023.

NCFR member will receive a link to this year's 2023 NCFR election ballots in their email in early February. Check your junk mail, spam, or clutter folders.

The nominees are:

Board of Directors President-elect (2023-2025, President 2025-2027), one position

  • Debra L. Berke
  • Brenda J. Lohman
  • Pamela B. Payne

Board Member-at-Large (2023-2026), three positions

  • Shera C. Thomas-Jackson
  • Kari Adamsons
  • Rachel H. Farr
  • Christi R. McGeorge
  • Vanja Lazarevic
  • Ted G. Futris
  • Kimberly Greder

Students and New Professionals Board Representative-elect (2023-2024, Board SNP Representative 2024-2026), one position

  • Janeal M. White
  • Lorena Aceves
  • Jaz Routon

Affiliate Councils President-elect (2023-2025), one position

  • Scott Tobias
  • Alisha M. Hardman

Elections Council Members-at-Large (2023-2026), two positions

  • Shann Hwa (Abraham) Hwang
  • Elizabeth G. Olson
  • Kimberly Doudna
  • Todd Jensen

Fellows Committee Member (2023-2026), one position

  • Anisa M. Zvonkovic
  • Scott S. Hall
  • Daniel Perlman

Inclusion and Diversity Committee Members-at-Large (2023-2026), three positions

  • Lisa Moyer
  • Amanda Terrell
  • Meeshay Williams-Wheeler
  • Yoshie Sano
  • Aryn M. Dotterer
  • Henry Gonzales
  • Norma J. Perez-Brena

Inclusion and Diversity Committee Students and New Professional Representative (2023-2025), one position

  • Matthew Rivas-Koehl
  • Genese C. Clark
  • Amy A. Morgan