Winter 2014 Ethnic Minorities Section update

Ani Yazedjian, section chair

It was great to see so many familiar faces in Baltimore at the NCFR Annual Conference. We had several engaging sessions and stimulating conversation throughout the conference. I extend a thank you to all members who volunteered their time reviewing conference proposals and serving as facilitators and discussants for our various sessions. The success of our sessions depends in large part on your hard work prior to and during the conference.

We also had the privilege of celebrating the 35th anniversary of the Ethnic Minorities Section during our Oral History. During that time, we had the opportunity to reflect on the vibrant history of the Section, highlight some of the many accomplishments of our members, and articulate a vision of what we hope to accomplish in the next 35 years.

In addition, in conjunction with the International Section, the Ethnic Minorities Section co-sponsored and co-hosted an informal networking event for students and new professionals (SNPs) at this year's conference. The event provided SNPs with an opportunity to get to know new colleagues in a relaxed and casual environment. We hope to continue this successful new tradition at future conferences.

This year, the Section also recognized Dr. Shuntay McCoy as the winner of the John L. and Harriette P. McAdoo Dissertation award. Dr. McCoy's dissertation qualitatively investigated African American postsecondary students' perceptions of their identity development within the context of predominantly White institutions and historically Black colleges and universities. Dr. McCoy will present her findings at next year's conference in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

In closing, I want to thank our outgoing officers—Mayra Bamaca (SNP), Yolanda Mitchell (SNP), and Kristy Shih (Secretary/Treasurer)—for their hard work over the last two years. They have been a pleasure to work with and tireless in their commitment to the Section. The Section now welcomes incoming officers Shuntay McCoy (SNP), Yolanda Mitchell (Secretary/Treasurer), Jose Miguel Rodas (SNP), and Roudi Nazarinia Roy (Chair-Elect), who began their terms at the conference in Baltimore.