Member Updates: Award Winners at National Conferences

In the latest NCFR member news...


Abigail Gewirtz, Ph.D., (left) and Na Zhang, Ph.D. (right) were honored with awards at the Society for Prevention Research (SPR) 2018 Annual Meeting.

  • Dr. Gewirtz, professor of Family Social Science at the University of Minnesota, received the Translational Science Award, presented to an individual or a team of individuals in recognition for contributions to the field of prevention science. Dr. Gewirtz is the John and Nancy Lindahl Leadership Professor in the Department of Family Social Science and the Institute of Child Development, and director of the Institute for Translational Research in Children’s Mental Health at the University of Minnesota.
  • Dr. Zhang was one of three awardees of the Early Career Preventionist Network student poster contest. She is a 2018 Ph.D. graduate from University of Minnesota, a former student of Dr. Gewirtz's and received NCFR's Student Honors Recognition. She is currently a post-doctoral fellow at Arizona State University.

Erin Yelland, Ph.D., received the Jeanne M. Priester Award for Outstanding Individual and/or Family Programming at the National Health Outreach Conference. The award was presented for her program “Keys to Embracing Aging 30-Day Challenge”. Read more...

Congratulations to these NCFR members!

Members: We want to share your news!

NCFR invites members to submit news and announcements about themselves or other members — professional promotions, awards, job changes, involvement in a notable project or event, recognition for outstanding work, etc. — so that we can share with your colleagues.

Fill out our webform to let us know your news!