Alexis J. Walker Award for Mid-Career Achievement in Feminist Family Studies

2023 Recipient

Lyndal Khaw, Ph.D., Montclair State University 


The award is to honor Alexis J. Walker, founder of the Feminism and Family Science (FF) Section. This award will be given biennially (odd years).


A plaque will be awarded and recognition given in FF newsletter, FF website, and at the FF Section annual meeting.


  • Award will be given biennially (odd years)
  • Award recipients should have high visiblity in the FF Section
  • Mid-career nominees should be at least 10 years since completing terminal degree
  • Applicants and nominees must be NCFR and Feminism and Family Science Section members to apply
  • Each award would emphasize the contribution to feminist family scholarship, with one or more of the following additional areas: teaching, service to FF and NCFR, leadership and administraiton, and activism

Nomination/application process

  • Applicants can be nominated by colleagues and can self-nominate
  • Applicants must provide 3 (but no more than 5) letters of support
  • Applicants must provide a cover sheet addressing:
    • how applicant's work meets the criteria of the award
    • how long the applicant has been a FF member
    • description of present and past participation in FF
    • names of references
    • applicant's updated vitae or resume


May 15: Application deadline. Send completed applications to Membership
July 31: The recipient is notified by this date